featured · Recipes

Cold Care

Sorry I’ve been gone so long! I’ve been lazy  nursing a cold! But before I Netflix the day away in bed, let me give you some of my favorite, healthy, natural remedies that I eat and drink while I’m under the weather.

Superfood Smoothie

Good for both colds and tummy troubles. I add a cup or two of spinach, a handful of blueberries, a banana, a heaping tablespoon of coconut oil, honey to taste, orange juice, plain greek yogurt, and ginger ( I use it in its fresh, root form or paste form. You can find either at the supermarket, and its more potent this as a paste.)

Turmeric Tea

Many people make their own, which is admirable, but when I’m sick I am not trying to do all that. So I buy the organic bagged version of it from Trader Joe’s, which has turmeric root, ginger root, and black pepper, which activates the health effects of the turmeric. I steep one bag in a mug of hot water and add raw honey and coconut milk to taste.

Poached Egg Soup

This is one of my favs by far. Essentially I poach an egg (crack an egg open into boiling water), and then season the water its cooking in with organic apple cider vinegar, black pepper and salt to taste. And instead of taking the egg out of the water when its cooked how I like, I dump it all in a bowl and eat/drink all of it together like a soup! The result is brothy and salty and great when I’m sick. This is what my mom made me as a child when I was ill, too. Oh, nostalgia.

I do revolving combos of these foods until I feed better, usually also with some OJ or fresh fruit thrown it when I feel like it.

I have a date with my essential oil diffuser and Netflix. Hope the January germs are treating y’all better than they’re treating me!

 

xo

Bri

 

Leave a Reply

