Recipes

lunch on day 1: a lesson on improvising

Yesterday I went grocery shopping in preparation for my January 5th start date to my food-related resolutions. For whatever reason, the grocery store is my happy place.

img_0170

There’s a Trader Joe’s super close to where I live, so I do a lot of shopping there. I got everything I needed for a week or so worth of groceries for $8.00 less than the budget I gave myself.

Here is most of the non-refrigerated stuff from my haul. I also got mini heirloom tomatoes, strawberries, greek yogurt, coconut milk, salmon, and some more stuff. Everything cost me about $72 – which is less than my $80 budget! YES.

img_0171

Anywho, if you recall my resolutions and the eating plan that I developed to achieve one of them, I said I’d be starting out with oatmeal topped with fresh pears for breakfast, and avocado toast for lunch. But even the best laid plans can go awry.

When I woke up this morning, neither my pears nor my avocados were ripe enough to eat!(boo, hiss). But a girl’s gotta eat! I worked through breakfast and made myself a bulletproof coffee — here is a recipe I published elsewhere on how to do it. The coconut oil is a healthy fat that keeps you full and keeps you from spiking and then crashing because of the caffeine.

For lunch though, I needed an actual meal with things I could chew, so I preheated my oven to 400 degrees  (Fahrenheit). I took about five brussels sprouts and five of the tiny potatoes, halved them, and put them in a pan lightly greased with olive oil.

img_0181
Baxter wants some too. No dice.

Then I drizzled truffle oil over the veggies, seasoned them with sea salt, oregano, and pepper, and then, using my hands, made sure all sides were evenly coated with the oil and seasonings.

img_0182
He’s pouting.

 

Then I roasted them in the heated oven until tender, which is usually around 35-40 minutes. While I was waiting I did some writing, some laundry, and poached an egg.

And when it was all said and done, I had an delicious and filling lunch, albeit not the one I planned to have. I’m a lazy and impatient cook, so I want deliciousness that won’t take me too long. Roasted veggies are one of my easy meal staples. I’ll probably have some for dinner, too. Shruggy guy.

img_0183

5 thoughts on “lunch on day 1: a lesson on improvising

  1. Ooo I thought from the photo that the egg was some kind of sauce dollop but poached eggs are so goooood. Also I have been feeling brussels sprouts again lately… hmm!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bri omg, this sounds amazing. Brussel sprouts are a consistent fave, but I usually roast them alone, I’ll have to try roasting with other root veggies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

