Recipes

looking for a healthy meal plan?

Happy New Year!

One of my New Years Resolutions is to be kinder to my body, so in part that means fueling it with foods that are healthy and won’t exacerbate my PCOS.

So I have made a plan that will include breakfast, lunch, dinner, and things to eat and drink in between meals.

Additionally, I am looking to include things in my diet that will help PCOS. For example, hormone imbalance, insulin resistance, and inflammation are some of the major issues concomitant with PCOS. Spearmint tea has excellent anti-andrigen effects, while eating fewer grain-based carbohydrates and with no added or refined sugar helps insulin resistance. Turmeric, taken in capsule form or drank as tea, has proven effects on insulin sensitivity for PCOS folks and/or those with type two diabetes. Tart cherry juice is good for inflammation, as is green tea.

I have found that I do best when I eat the same things over and over, so I rotate the regulars. Here’s what I have so far:

Breakfast: Fresh pear + ginger oatmeal + Bulletproof coffee – this is a breakfast I don’t tend to get tired of, mostly because it is so easy to make completely different every time. I plan to change the oatmeal toppings with what is in season.

Midmorning/post workout: Cherry vanilla smoothie – for recovery.

Lunch: Avocado toast + roasted veggies

Midafternoon: fruit and yogurt parfait + spearmint or turmeric tea

Dinner: Salmon and corn chowder

Dessert: (I have a sweet tooth!) will be a matcha (that’s green tea, if you didn’t know!) spinach smoothie

I will change out side dishes and entrees as necessary, but I plan to eat this specific menu for 3-4 days (as long as the left overs and groceries last) before changing. I will post every recipe to the blog for those who want them, and talk you through my shopping list and prices and such for those that find it helpful to follow a plan. I plan to start January 5!

Stay tuned!

xo

Bri

One thought on “looking for a healthy meal plan?

Leave a Reply

